Randomshutter

Anything and everything clicks...

Collection of random rants and photos from my life experiences shared to the world.

Busybody Google

I’ve been a fan of gmail (a free web based mail service by google) since its beta stage. I think I sign up about 5 years ago.. and I think its still in beta now. Back when it launched it gave its user 1GB of storage space. 5 years ago it was a big deal. Providers such as Hotmail (if memory serves me, Hotmail only had 2MB of mail box space in 2005) and Yahoo soon had to follow suit by increasing its mail box size. Back in the day, larger mailbox is a premium service. Paid service until google came along. So far its added more and more storage space its virtually unlimited. I’m currently using 9% of the available storage for me. Thats 741MB of 7432MB… yes my mailbox is a mere 7.4GB. I heard that the size is relative to how much you use. So I assume there are those with bigger mailboxes than me.

A while back google came up with Gtalk. Which is similar to Live Messenger. Which is all good. until it started to add people whom I have corresponded to a few times over on email. Google assumes that you know the person and would like to chat to them. This is kinda strange as last week I purchased something from an online seller which incidentally was using gmail as I was. We exchanged a few emails and today when I logged into my chat software I saw the seller on my chat contact list. 

Not that I do not like the seller or anything but I find that this is very annoying on google’s part. So I did a little digging and found this.

 

Rule #1:
if you reply to someone’s email, that person is added to your Gmail contact list.
(Error #1: you may not know that person)
Rule #2 (opt-out):
if you reply to someone’s messages more than 2-3 times, that person is added to the list of Google Talk friends.
(Error #2: see error #1. Also that person may not be your friend.)
Understanding this I went into the Settings and went to the Chat tab and saw Auto-add suggested contacts: field. Which was by default set to Automatically allow people I communicate with often to chat with me and see when I’m online. Grrr… 
So I checked the Only allow people that I’ve explicitly approved to chat with me and see when I’m online. radio box. Went into contacts and removed the seller. He disappeared from my list for a while and came back. I think both side needs to delete each other from the contact list. Eventho I have removed him from my list I’m still on his list! But I should not be able to see his online status right?!
WHATS THE DEAL GOOGLE!?
[g]